>Fire up the Time Machine

>…because I don’t want this lot leading us into the future.

Beloit College–in its annual effort to make itself relevant (but pfft! it’s in Beloit)published yet another list of what this year’s Freshmen class grew up with.

Personally, I find these snapshots of a generation disturbing enough:

“‘I actually visited the Berlin Wall with my parents when I was in fifth grade,’ said Jacob Williams, 18, of Louisville Ky., who is going through freshmen orientation at Beloit this week. ‘I didn’t know a lot about the history, but I think it was a great piece of architecture.'”

“‘You feel that you can joke about it now,’ said freshman Jenny Posh, 18, of Menomonee Falls, Wis., who said her only knowledge of the Cold War came from studying it during high school.”

These students witnessed an age of triumphant capitalism when stadiums were named for companies, product placement became ubiquitous in movies and Wal-Mart has always been a bigger retailer than Sears.”

“And then there’s technology: They use the online encyclopedia Wikipedia for research, grew up telling the world about themselves on MySpace and Facebook and are constantly talking (or texting) on their cell phones.”

Honestly, it’s enough to make you want to get a knitting needle, or at least tell Al Gore to fly kite instead of inventing the internet.*

*Not that I think this lot would get that joke, or even know who Al Gore is beyond that ‘old guy talks about the environment.”

4 comments

  1. Anonymous · August 22, 2007

    >isn’t gore the american novelist, playwright and essayist who deals with gay themes openly?;-)

  2. Anonymous · August 22, 2007

    >isn’t gore the american novelist, playwright and essayist who deals with gay themes openly?;-)

  3. absoluterik · August 29, 2007

    >Hello I love your blog. Can I add a link to your blog on my blog?Which title and url do you want me to add? http://www.restoringLove.com May be you will also like my blog, and that you willwant to support the cause the blog supports:”restoringLove”. You can also add a link in your blog.www.restoringLove.com Do not hesitate to give me your opinion and feedback,:) Kisses and Hughs Erik

  4. absoluterik · August 29, 2007

    >Hello I love your blog. Can I add a link to your blog on my blog?Which title and url do you want me to add? http://www.restoringLove.com May be you will also like my blog, and that you willwant to support the cause the blog supports:”restoringLove”. You can also add a link in your blog.www.restoringLove.com Do not hesitate to give me your opinion and feedback,:) Kisses and Hughs Erik

Leave a Reply

