>In the land of Angels: They Paved Tomorrowland and put up God Knows What

>No PeopleMover.

No Carousel of Progress. (Although I’m surprised that the Carousel got turfed in 1974 for “America Sings.” I barely recall that, so I must remember the Disney World Carousel as opposed to the Disneyland one.)

No Adventure Through Inner Space.

Just blech.

Surprisingly few sponsors though, although the rides feel considerably shorter than ever.

Yet it was my birthday and I was in Los Angeles, so really: there was no choice but to go to Disneyland.

Of the rides I did go on, I have to admit I still feel a little bit uncomfortable on Splash Mountain…and if you are or have parents/relatives of a certain age, you can understand why. I’m not at all referring to the drop itself, but the ending with the Showboat? I thought it veered dangerously into insensitivity (but quite honestly, the second they built a ride based on Song of The South, Disney knew they weren’t dealing with the most controversy-free property in the Disney “vault.”)

And then there’s The California Adventure, which is nice and all, but if I wanted to see the Santa Monica pier, I’d go to Santa Monica.

And what is Whoopi Goldberg doing as Queen of California?

Then again, maybe I’m just getting old…er.

(By the way, thanks to Yesterland for the links)

2 comments

  1. Anonymous · February 7, 2008

    >whoopi is queen of california because… well, let’s just say that her production company is called “one ho productions” for a reason.happy birthday.

  2. Anonymous · February 7, 2008

    >whoopi is queen of california because… well, let’s just say that her production company is called “one ho productions” for a reason.happy birthday.

Leave a Reply

