>Hikaruland Vs. April

>While much has gone on during my absence, it could also be argued that very little has. I’m not really going to debate that, but I’m going to try to pounce on the big stories of April (at least the ones that I’ve heard).

  • Obama-Wright: Personally, I think it’s all asinine. I don’t disagree with anything that Wright has said (based on the snippets I’ve heard so far), but the debacle is further proof that people forget that there is a way to communicate your message. I also think that Obama should’ve realised LOOOOONG before he launched into his candidacy that perhaps this association may be a liability.
  • Obama the candidate: It’s not really been a secret on here, but I’m finally going to say it out loud. I don’t support Obama at the moment. Should he win the nomination, I’ll vote for him without reservation. This moment in time, however, I just have trouble understanding why he feels the need to run now, nor do I feel that he should. The issues that he has right now illustrate his naivete and to some degree his arrogance with the rest of us. He just comes across to me as that smug vegan with their own backyard garden that feels the need to lecture you about how sinful you are for not living the way he does. I’d love to see a black president, but he doesn’t strike me as the one to bring that to fruition. The only plus he seems to have is that he does not have Bush or Clinton in his name.
  • Beijing 2008: This is going to be a shitstorm. Full stop. Not on the level of Munich 1972, but it’s going to get ugly.
  • Delta-Northwest & United-US Airways: I’m actually for these mergers. Emotionally, I wish Northwest was the surviving carrier, because I think they will be dragged down by Delta, but the weirdness that the market is in dictates that Delta should be the survivor. As for United-US Airways, it also makes sense, in that United gets a serious foothold on the East Coast (that Dulles hub is a joke for domestic connections) , and reinforces its European stance. Cruelly, poor US Airways will barely get a chance to operate its China routes before being swallowed up by United.
  • That photo in Vanity Fair: I am constantly amazed that celebrities forget that the puritan mindset that formed the US persists to this day. The American public likes being shocked, but they also (or at least make the appearance of being so) like to see a good modern day witch hunt. My advice to the next teen star anxious to make the transition: do it and say nothing at all.
  • Actors Strike?: On a completely petty level, I’d like to see SAG tarred and feathered the way the WGA was during their strike; however, the WGA strike delayed production so much, and a SAG strike with mess up the 2008-09 season, so I hope they resolve it. (Plus SAG stood by the WGA, it’s only fair to do the same to them.)
  • Zimbabwe: Just give up, Mugabe. You’d think he’d at least try to get rid of the Hitler moustache already.
  • I thought she was dead: Laurie Bembenek is appealing to the US Supreme Court. This case is almost as old as I am. I don’t think she did it, but there comes a time when you just accept that you can’t win.
2 comments

  1. Anonymous · May 1, 2008

    >that’s a whole lot of posts wrapped into one. and strangely, it’s true that much has happened while, at the same time, very little has happened.on the democratic nomination process, it looks like they’re end up going all the way to the convention on june 3. so, on the bright side, there’s only about a month left before things get resolved one way or the other.by the way, i think my spell check would suggest “bimbonic” for the name bembenek.

  2. Anonymous · May 1, 2008

    >that’s a whole lot of posts wrapped into one. and strangely, it’s true that much has happened while, at the same time, very little has happened.on the democratic nomination process, it looks like they’re end up going all the way to the convention on june 3. so, on the bright side, there’s only about a month left before things get resolved one way or the other.by the way, i think my spell check would suggest “bimbonic” for the name bembenek.

Leave a Reply

