>Un Horloge Cassée…

>I don’t often focus on events in the Metropole, so it’s no wonder that I missed this tidbit from this past August.

Now, let me go on the record and say I don’t like Sarkozy and I doubt I ever will. I think he’s a slightly less offensive version of Berlusconi, and his cult of personality gets France press but actually hurts their international standing.

I also believe that his motivations have less to do with “improving standards and ending the tyranny of ratings” and more with helping his media mogul friends.

That said

I am of the belief that a public broadcaster should receive its funding from the public (and in modern France, “L’etat c’est moi” has moved from the aristocratic to the “man on the street”) not from corporations, especially if it is one as comprehensive as France Televisions which has to represent a country that is pratically spread across the world and whose reputation has suffered by going commercial…at least in my opinion.

I also believe that he’s right to make up the shortfall with higher media/communication taxes. It remains to be seen on whether Sarky & Co. will follow through with the Euros needed to support quality programming.

I hope he will, but I wouldn’t hold my breath.

2 comments

  1. Anonymous · January 6, 2009

    >i don’t believe that any broadcaster should receive its funding from the government. to me, that just raises all kinds of questions about government regulation of speech (in this case, indirect regulation by withholding funds from programming that isn’t deemed worthy).it’s one thing for funding to come from individuals, as is the case with america’s pbs. but who needs some bureaucrat to decide whether any given show is greenlit?if the choice is between two evils (corporate funding by advertisement or government funding by grants), i’d prefer the lesser of the two — corporate advertising.

  2. Hikaru · January 6, 2009

    >The first concern you raise is definitely why I’m reserved in praising Sarky, but I like the idea of the system that he’s setting up. The real tricky thing with government funded broadcasters is that the government has to be willing to let “the child” criticise “the parent.” In respect to this country (the US), it is definitely a choice of a meek group of public broadcasters (although if you watch a PBS show from the start, you’d be hard pressed to find the difference between ads and those “sponsored by” messages) and a group of well-funded corporate subsidaries that can criticise within certain limits.And believe you me, I hope to see the day when NBC criticises GE or ABC go to town on Disney.There’s no room for self-examination under the US system, but for the US to actually set up a proper state network and the watchdog for it would require a degree of humility and autonomy that hasn’t been there since the 1960s.

Leave a Reply

