>"Thursday" Jukebox Goes Down Under

>I cannot tell you how refreshing the music scene is over here, compared to the US. (And 2 of the networks devote their overnight programming to airing nothing but music videos!)

For starters, indie dance music is really doing well on the charts. Here are two really prime examples.
Sneaky Sound System are a trio that I find really blends the funkier aspects of House along with a strong dash of rock, and have just released their second album, appropriately entitled 2. This is their latest video and single 16.

Believe you me, if I could get a chance to see them in concert while I was here, I would…and I am not a big concert person.

The other act I think is worth highlighting is Empire of the Sun. I have no problem in admitting that I am no fan of the Polyphonic Spree and their neo-hippie sun, light, and peace pap, but Empire of the Sun manage to stay in the same vein and amazingly don’t come across as smug Hare Krishnas busking for dollars. This is their latest single We Are The People.
2 comments

  1. Anonymous · February 12, 2009

    >the music isn’t bad, but i’m unimpressed by the videos.

  2. Hikaru · February 14, 2009

    >Sneaky could try better, but I do give props to Empire for filming in Mexico.

Leave a Reply

