>ESC 2009: This is crazy — bom

>I had given this year’s Ukrainian entry a bit of a pass in terms of grammar, because I thought the unintelligible lyrics were mostly due to Svetlana’s heavy accent.

Well, apparently not. This song really is rather incomprehensible to anyone with a strong familiarity with the English language. A brief selection of the lyrics, courtesy of The Diggiloo Thrush:

You are so sexy – bom
Gon’ make me crazy – bom
We’re gonna do the bom bom
Ain’t that amazing – bom
I’m very busy – bom
It’s not so easy – bom
I’m gonna tease you – bom bom
Without a reason – bom

I should point out to those who have yet to hear the song, that Svetlana pronounces “bom” the way most Commonwealth, Americans, and Irish pronounce the word “bum.”

Later on, the lyricist becomes obsessed with the phrase “anti-crisis.”

Yeah, aha…
You are sexy – bom
You are sexy – bom
Really crazy – bom
You and you and you
Anti-crisis – bom
Baby, I can save your world
I’m your anti-crisis girl
Baby, I can save your world
I’m your anti-crisis girl

Perhaps the point of the song is to illustrate co-dependency?

One comment

  1. Anonymous · March 16, 2009

    >that song is inane – bomreally quite insane – bomyou’re my anti-lyrics girl

Leave a Reply

