Nostalgia Jukebox Says Come Home

I’ve found myself in a bit of a nostalgia kick recently. Happily enough, it’s not die to anything sad, in fact, it has more to do with extremely good news. (By the way, my show on JOY 94.9, World Wide Waves will be doing a US show next month in celebration of  this news)* 

* Wednesdays at 11pm AEDT, and if you haven't tuned in or downloaded the podcast, take this as your chance to catch up!

You know, I have probably ridden NBC harder than any other US** network, but I remember when NBC was THE network, and it’s extremely sad to see something that used to be grand just become a shell of itself. 

** With this new announcement by President Obama, I officially retire my use of the phrase "that place" to describe the USA. It's my home, and I'm happy to refer to it by name. 

This is the NBC I remember:

Come Home to NBC (1987)

 

NBC 1985

(by the way, can you imagine how much that cast lineup would be now?) 

3 comments

  1. The Rerun Guy · December 10, 2011

    Man, I hear ya. I’ve been on a nostalgia kick recently as well. I just wrote about it a bit in a recent blog post. I mean, with the direction television is heading now, could you imagine NBC executives even approving a show like Cheers or The Cosby Show or Night Court or Family Ties? They would probably say they aren’t edgy enough. Ugh.

  2. Pingback: My JOY Story « hikarublue
  3. Pingback: Friday Jukebox Says Let’s Go « hikarublue

Leave a Reply

